From Dec 2011

 

It’s been a longgg time since we’ve talked, I know. I have a litany of excuses, but I’ll spare you my drivel. The fact of the matter is that my creativity waxes and wanes, coming in cyclical spurts. I’ve learned to pay attention to these, and not get too crabby when they don’t happen at will.

I put aside my manuscript early this year after receiving some sound feedback. My characters needed work. I’m a big girl. I’ll own that. And further, I’ll admit that I didn’t know where to start. So, I let it go and waited.

Fast forward six months. The characters in my book slowly weasel their way back into my subconscious. They start talking to me in my daydreams, and lo and behold, I’m writing. My beloved characters lit the proverbial spark under my rear and off I went.

Now, I’m sitting here, writing to all of you to tell you that sometimes letting go is the best way to get back into the swing of things. Stop stressing, stop trying to force it. Just let it go.

Hopefully sometime in the next few weeks I’ll have some agent feedback about my most recent revision. I just sent out half a dozen queries today, including one invitation to resubmit after revision. Fingers crossed.

